John Williams Honorable Mentions

So, now that I’ve posted my Top 10 favorite JW pieces, I’m here to present 4 Honorable Mentions. These pieces are good, fantastic even, but they just didn’t quite crack the list.

Honorable Mention #1 – The Theme From Jaws

What an iconic piece. This goes along with other musical pieces that people immediately recognize what it’s implying. It can be used anytime someone or something is stalking someone or something in the water. It doesn’t even have to be in the water, we just know what it’s implying! This year also happens to be the 40th anniversary of the film and it’s actually getting a reissue this summer in some theaters!

Honorable Mention #2 – Hedwig’s Theme from the Harry Potter Franchise

Williams’ main theme for the films that was used in all 8. It evolved and grew up with Harry as the films went on. It went from being a light and airy piece to being dark and brooding by the last film. I am just a little too old to have been on the HP bandwagon like people in their mid to late 20s, but I did enjoy the books and films so this gets a special place on this list.

Honorable Mention #3 – The Main Theme from Home Alone

A silly movie, but a great one that has made it’s way into the pantheon of holiday films for the family. I loved all the music from this film, but this is recognizable by many people and will always stand out as one of Williams’ under appreciated masterpieces.

Honorable Mention #4 – The Opening of Superman/Trailer for Superman Returns

Now, the part I’m speaking of starts at the beginning of this video and ends at 1:15. The rest of the video is great, though.

I don’t know…there’s just something about that music that gets me pumped! It’s amazing and when they used it in the trailer for Superman Returns I couldn’t be happier! Side note, I LOVE Superman Returns! I thought it was a great film, but it was pretty widely panned. Here’s the trailer if you’ve never seen it:

I got goosebumps the first time I saw that! What a fantastic bit of music!

Well, that’s about it. What are some of your favorite John Williams pieces? Let me know in the comments!

~Bill

Leave a Reply

