Why Can’t We Just Be Gay?

If you’ve listened to any of the Mediafile Podcasts with me on them, you’ll notice that we mention a lot that I am not from Rhode Island/New England. This is strange for anyone living in New England as they mostly don’t seem to notice that there’s a world outside of their corner. (Sorry, guys, I gotta get my jokes in where I can…)

The thing about being from the South is that yeah, people tend to be a little more narrow-minded when it comes to, well, everything. That’s okay though because there are also some amazing people from the South, too.

Today though, I was very disturbed to see that an openly-gay man in the Country music-scene, Joey Greenwell,  is now claiming that he’s straight and is going by Nate Green. Check the main article out by clicking me. 

Is this a product of the South, selling-out, or the general fact that stereotypes reign?

I’ve seen my fair share of terrible things come out of the South: racism, homophobia, etc. but this article made me truly sad today.

I don’t like country music, normally, but there are so many people who do. These are people who are like you and I, no matter where they’re from. Hell, one of my friends from NEW HAMPSHIRE rocks cowboy boots and listens to tons of Country. Does she have a problem with someone who identifies int he LGBTQ community? No. But there are a lot of people who do in the Southern part of the US who are. Ignoring the possibility that Joey may have done this only as a publicity stunt, my question is – did Joey become Nate because he wanted to appeal to a bigger audience, or did he become Nate because he feels ashamed to be gay?

Either way, both of these options are not okay.

In any type of profession a person should not have to be open, or closed-off, about their sexuality. It’s your option to identify as whatever you want, right?  So if Joey is Gay and can’t make it as a country star – why? Why in the late parts of 2014 is being a Gay Country Singer not allowed? Is this a product of the grab-your-guns-grab-your-truck-grab-your-dog mentality that is perpetuated by country music stereotypes, or is it possible that being around all of the other people in country music has only shown him that it’s not okay to be gay? And why the hell do people still think that?

I am honestly unsure, and this article has me very depressed. What do you think it is, readers? How do you feel this whole gay-to-straight as a career move thing means? Will we see more of this in the future? Less?

Leave a Reply

