Kingdom Hearts III Gameplay Trailer!

Years ago – throughout my entire childhood and right up until about the year 2001 – I only ever owned Nintendo game consoles.  I was a fanboy.  Even typing the word now, N-I-N-T-E-N-D-O, makes me feel happy.  Okay, fine.  I had an Atari 2600 and a Commodore 64…  But after that, it was just the NES, Gameboy, SNES, N64, GBA and GameCube.  I never liked Sega.  I thought the PlayStation was nothing more than flashy graphics with no real substance (Though, I did get the PC version of Final Fantasy VII).  And when MicroSoft launched a gaming console?  Xbox?!  What is that?!  Hah!  I scoffed.

But, eventually, Square published two games that changed my mind; and one of them is getting another installment I actually care about soon…The games in question were Final Fantasy X and Kingdom Hearts.  When Final Fantasy X launched, I was stunned.  It was an early game on the PlayStation 2 and the visuals blew me away.  And the music?  I defy you to listen to a piano-solo version of ‘To Zanarkand’ and not be moved!

I was on board!  I borrowed a friend’s PS2 (Thanks, Smacks!) to play through FFX and a few short months later received one for my birthday.  I’m a hard-sell when it comes to hardware…  Since then, I have only ever bought a Nintendo Wii (How novel and fun was that when it was first released?) and an Xbox 360.  I tend to weigh the game libraries against the cost and the user experience and I stand by my choices.

In case you’re wondering, I have no interest in the Wii U so far, and no intention to buy either an Xbox One or a PS4…  yet.  I’m going to let the early adopters spend all their money, and see who comes out on top.

I will be getting one of them though.  Square (or is it SquareSoft? or is it Square-Enix?  I lose track…)  will have done it again!  They recently announced Kingdom Hearts III!  I know they’ve been releasing games in that series all along.  There have been various handheld and mobile sequels and prequels and well as HD remixes of the original two PS2 titles.  But they’ve skipped an entire generation of home consoles and once the dust settles from Final Fantasy XV (yawn…) they’re going to kick production of this game into high gear and release it on both the Xbox One AND the PS4!

Now, this isn’t going to mean much to you unless you were a fan of Kingdom Hearts when it was first released, but they have given us some preview footage to look at.  The video itself is a fairly low resolution, but it’s clear they’ve been working very hard to take full advantage of the power in the next generation system.  I’m not sure what’s going on here, game-wise…  It look like part of the game might actually take place in Disney World.  That’s cool…  I guess…  I hope…  But the action and the gameplay brought up some very strong feelings of Nostalgia in me.  Kingdom Hearts was beautiful, and the same director is working on this game and seems quite dedicated.

I can’t wait!  Here’s the footage:

 

Leave a Reply

